breaking news

Austin music legend Jimmy LaFave dies at age 61

Monday’s pick: A week of free events

View Caption Hide Caption

lhs Yoga in Park 04James Haley at BookPeople. 7 p.m. Monday. 603 N. Lamar Blvd. 512-472-5050, http://www.bookpeople.com. At this reading and signing event, Austin author, historian and biographer James L. Haley will take you to the balmy islands of Hawaii. In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough, his book “Captive Paradise” is the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war and culture.

Ladies Night at Austin Mic Exchange. 11 p.m. Tuesday. Spider House Cafe & Ballroom, 2908 Fruth St. 512-480-9562, spiderhousecafe.com. It’s the second Tuesday of the month, which means all female MCs who sign-up for Austin Mic Exchange, the open-mic night for local hip-hop artists, will be placed at the top of the performance list.

Larry Monroe Memorial at Guero’s Oak Garden. 6 p.m. Wednesday. 1412 S. Congress Ave. sunradio.com. A year ago this week, longtime Austin DJ Larry Monroe was in his element at Guero’s, hosting Sun Radio’s weeekly “Texas Radio Live” program and turning his devoted listeners on to new local music. Two days later, he was gone. His legacy lives on in “Texas Radio Live,” which turns into a memorial celebration this week with performances by Ruthie Foster, Butch Hancock, Tish Hinojosa, Bill Carter, Alvin Crow, Tex Thomas, Ernie Durawa and Van Wilks.

Head for the Hills: Free Music Fridays. 7 p.m. Friday. 4700 S. Congress Ave. http://www.hillscafe.com. Grab dinner from a special menu in the backyard of Hill’s Cafe while enjoying live music by Zack Walther & the Cronkites.

Yoga in the Park. 11 a.m. Sunday. Wooldridge Park, 900 Guadalupe St. http://www.austinparks.org/yoga.html. The Little Yoga House hosts a family yoga class the third Sunday of every month. Bring your own yoga mats.


View Comments 0

%d bloggers like this: